Multitasking

IMG_0242My students were making a podcast, and as I walked past this pair of girls, at first I was a little confused.  I had to stop and figure out what was going on.  When I realized what was happening… i whipped out my iPhone and took this photo.   If you haven’t managed to interpret it – they each have a pair of earphones, which they are sharing with the other.  One had hers plugged into the computer they were working on.  The other had hers plugged into an iPod.  Together they were editing their podcast with one ear, and with the other, listening to some music.  Leaving aside issues of earwax and the fact that it doesn’t seem – to my generation x brain – like a good way to work… it was probably the most productive that this pair have been all semester!  I don’t know what to think of it.

3 thoughts on “Multitasking

  1. Hi Andrew – After attending your workshop in Dunedin, NZ, last week, (and yes, I am still buzzing from it and would like to shout it from the rooftops), this photos personifies how you talked about engagement of learners in the classroom environment. I love it. It works for them!
    Thanks so much for your inspiritational tips and views. I teach 9-10 year olds, but have taken so much from your workshops as to how i can implement further engagement with my pupils at their level.

  2. Having taught year 11 and 12 boys technical graphics in a computer lab, I found that the best way to keep them on task, doing what I needed them to do (as opposed to mucking around and wasting time) was to let them listen to their music as they worked! I can even remember the first major design project they had — (WAY BACK in 2004) – to design new portable entertainment system! We have come so far!

Comments are closed.