Microsoft Worldwide Innovative Teachers’ Awards

picture-1
Me and Matthew (from Ghana) a friend I made in Hong Kong

Last week I had the enviable privilege of spending a week in Hong Kong at the Microsoft Worldwide Innovative Teachers’ Forum. I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity, really.  And not just because I won – but because it was a great experience to mix with innovative teachers from all over the world, sharing ideas and experiences.

Each country is able to send a teacher (or in a few cases more than one teacher).  In all, there were teachers from 62 countries, as well as judges, Microsoft officials and journalists. 

I was really encouraged that, even though it is a Microsoft event, they were not promoting Microsoft products but best practice in teaching and learning – irrespective of the software or hardware being used. The evidence of their sincerity in this stated focus, is that I won – even though i was unapologetic in my use of Apple products as well as Microsoft ones.

When I was first told that I would have to explain what I do, and be judged, using a poster (before going to Hanoi) I thought it was very strange indeed.  Looking back on the experience however, I think it makes a lot of sense. For one thing, having to describe my pedagogy, strategies, tools and results in poster format, really made me think about what was fundamental to my philosophy and methodology. A lot of the tools I use are cool but I couldn’t use the coolness of them to impress the judges!  Instead I had to be able to clearly explain what I am doing, and more importantly, why, without using any whiz-bang.

In Hong Kong it was similar.  Each teacher was given a small booth in which to display a poster.  But this time I was also able to use my laptop to demonstrate answers to questions by judges.

Presentation Booths
Presentation Booths
My presentation booth
My presentation booth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the first day of judging, we presented for 2 hours (although it turned into longer than that), while other teachers, judges, journalists and others moved around listening to our presentations.  Among those visitors were the three judges that were assigned to judge my work. 

At the start of the second day, the semifinalists were announced at the start of the day (I was pleased to be among them) and then it all started again.  The semifinalists had another few hours of presenting to passers-by.  This time there were 9 judges assigned to each semifinalist (but you did not really know who they were).  

Presenting to judges and other on-lookers
Presenting to judges and other on-lookers

At the end of the second day, we were treated to a 14 course dinner at the Jumbo Restaurant – a huge floating ball-room on the bay.  Here the winners were announced.  There are three categories.  Collaboration, Community, and Content.  I was in the Community category (as my project is about creating online learning communities).  

When they announced that I was the winner, I have to say it was such an exciting moment, and a very humbling one, actually – as every one of the teachers at the forum was doing something very impressive.  Any one of them could easily have won, and I’d not have thought it inappropriate.  Nevertheless, amid chants of “Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oi! Oi! Oi!” from the Microsoft Australia contingent, I found myself being called up to the stage as the first place winner, which was a moment I don’t think I will ever forget.

The Awards Ceremony
The Awards Ceremony

But as exciting as it was, I think coming home to find, and being surprised to find my students, colleagues and family gathered on the front lawn of the school to welcome me home was even more meaningful – and actually, a highlight of my career – because an award (nice as it is) is just an award.  But the esteem of family, colleagues, and students is much more meaningful. 

 

picture-31

 

arriving at school, greeted by my students and colleagues

arriving at school, greeted by my students, colleagues & family

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Microsoft Worldwide Innovative Teachers’ Awards

  1. Congratulations on your award, Andrew! Sounds like a wonderful adventure over there, and I’ll bet you’ve brought home some great ideas to share. You have lucky kids in your classes. 🙂

  2. Congratulations once again Andrew!
    What an incredible experience for you! I wonder if there were any other finalists’ ideas that stood out in your mind? It sounded like it was a very intense and tiring experience, yet well worth it.
    A fitting reward for a teacher who has been such a positive influence for so many students and teachers, not just at your own school, but around the world!
    Lucy 🙂

  3. Hey Andrew, I just noticed the news (a bit late, sorry!)

    Well, congratulations! I’m sure this will open up even more doors for you for your own benefit but of course also for others. I can understand how your own friends, family and students’ welcome back home must have been really meaningful. They know you beyond any poster, hey? Good on you!

  4. Hi. We’ve met twice eh. But i don’t really think that you really know me. Anyway, you’ve done so good things for your pupils, school. community, and off course us, teachers all over the world for sharing and growing together. Congratulation.
    If you have a good opportunity, please do come to my web: http://www.mampuono.6te.net or http://www.mampuono.multiply.com. You can translate my web using http://www.translator.google.com.

    Best regards

    Mampuono

    English Teacher in Junior High School 18 Semarang
    Central Java Indonesia
    Mobile: (6224)70378565

  5. Andrew,

    Just wanted to say that your blog is inspirational as is your philosophy.

    I came across your award in the Australian Educational Leader Journal article (Vol 31 2009).

    Congratulations on your recent awards and thanks for sharing your insights.

    Oh, by the way, I agree with one of your blog posts, the more you share the more you’re inspired to create.

    Regards,
    Maurice

  6. Pingback: Becoming a Digital Productivity Ninja « Reflections and Connections

  7. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that
    it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Comments are closed.