Virtual Post-It Notes

Today in my Year 12 Biology class, i used a neat tool that I came across called Wallwisher I think its really cool. It uses a “stickies-on-a-wall” metaphor. You can add a Sticky note simply by double clicking anywhere on the wall and by clicking and dragging, you can reposition any note on the wall – allowing grouping of similar notes.

I simply used it as a formative activity – asking my students to write down anything and everything they already knew about evolution on post-it notes and place them on the wallwisher wall.  Anyone was allowed to write anything, and anyone was allowed to move stickies around to group them with other related comments. It was only a 5 minute activity – but really engaging, and it has some advantages over real stickies, in that (a) everyone can see the comments clearly from wherever they are (on his or her own screen) and (b) the wall can be saved  (c) you don’t need to be in the same place at the same time to collaborate on it (although my students were) and (d) A student has the option of being anonymous.

What other uses can you see for it?  I’m keen to hear your suggestions.

The Evolution Wall

16 thoughts on “Virtual Post-It Notes

  1. Nice little tool; I’m going to use it to share last minute revision questions over the weekend as students prepare for their text writing SAC.

  2. Hello Andrew – just read your reference to Wall Wisher. Have you looked at Stixy? It does some of the same things but you do have to log in.

    • Thanks Jenny! I have been playing with Stixy and I think I like it better than Wallwisher. Its a similar metaphor… but i like the interface better. You DO have to sign up to use it – but the process for signing up is painless. Thanks for the tip!

      • That’s okay, Andrew – the design is “clean” and stylish isn’t it? Happy holidays before your hectic revision time!

  3. Pingback: Path of a Tennis Ball « Webmaths

  4. Thanks for the idea Andrew! I’m going to use a wallwisher with my Grade Two class as a space for them to reflect on what they have learnt about dinosaurs this term.
    Jenny – I just checked out Stixy and it was prompting me to sign up?

  5. Andrew, thanks for the tip re wallwisher. It looks very good – I will endeavour to use it. A good form of revision to if you revisit and add more notes later on. I gave it a plug on my blog as well – hope you don’t mind. Jeff T

  6. This is a fantastic tool for allowing students to provide feedback on how a lesson/assessment/discussion is going. I use currently a thing that I picked up from David Langford, whom you have met, called a parking lot. This allows students to put up questions or comments via post it notes and a poster on the wall. It is all there for every class to see and get ideas about how to run a classroom activity. This is what I have been looking for to now run an interactive parking lot and see what are the benefits and potential of this application are.

  7. I love the simplicity of this site and the fact that you can also embed your walls into class wikis (or anywhere else). I have used them in my Yr7 language classroom in a similar way to your class in that, for their first language lesson, I asked them to write words or phrases they thought of when thinking “Japan”. This was used as the centrepiece of discussion on Japan; where it is, what we think, etc. I then copied and pasted everything into wordle (with mixed results). I have just started another wallwisher for the same class, asking people living in Japan to comment on what it’s like to live there, why they love it. A work in progress at http://www.wallwisher.com/wall/livinginjapan2 So simple to use.

  8. Andrew
    I’m going to try and use this tool for teachers to contribute to the school review process – on defining a school’s purpose. I will add this to my blog [mwalker.com.au] and copy the link on the daily bulletin and see how we go.

    • I used the wall for feedback from a lab that we did in class and organized the notes by groups to improve and re-direct students efforts in what they were struggling with. Worked great. Thanks for the great link and for the awesome podcast.

  9. Thanks Andrew,
    This looks like a great tool to encourage reflection on a specific topic covered. I will try it with my grade 2 students as a reflection tool. Also it could be a good way for students to discuss what they have been up to during the holidays and share experiences.

  10. Pingback: Nachhaltigkeit

Comments are closed.